Denomination Troubles

Well, I guess the one thing that I don’t understand at this point is why I am so strong in my faith as a Catholic (strong enough to know that I will never be anything else), and other people aren’t as strong in other Christian denominations.

Like, I have a friend who I’ve been talking about Catholicism and Christianity in general with, and he tells me that it doesn’t really matter what denomination he is, as long as it’s Christian. Why don’t I feel that way? Granted, I’m glad I don’t feel that way; but what about the Catholic Church makes me feel so secure in it?

You know it’s funny because I ask a lot of questions that I already know the answers to. The answer to the previous question is the Eucharist. The Eucharist has given me such a deep connection with Christ, it’s extremely hard to explain it in mere words.

But seriously, how can he be so lenient in what he believes? How can he say that he’d be willing to change denominations? I just don’t understand it. The views of you religion can just change overnight? I mean, I’m sure that isn’t what he meant, but quite honestly to me, that’s what it sounded like.

Also, what if another church of the same denomination doesn’t believe the same things that you do? What if you find your “new church” and you don’t agree with it? Are you still the same denomination? Or would you change your denomination because you don’t agree with it anymore?

I guess I’m just confused as to why someone would be so willing to change their denomination on what seems like a whim…

I am going to be Catholic the rest of my life. I want a Catholic husband (however, beggars can’t be choosers – I’d rather marry on on-fire Baptist than a luke-warm Catholic), and I’ll make damn sure my kids are raised Catholic (my husband knowing this before we decide to get married…).

Being Catholic has effected me in such a way that I can’t convince myself that “any other Christian denomination” would suit me fine too. It wouldn’t.

As I post this, the person I’m talking about is probably reading away, and he knows who he is… In any case, I know talking to him more about these kinds of things will only have one effect on me: It’s going to make me a stronger Catholic, and I’m perfectly okay with that.

In Christ and Mary,
Kate ❤

Leave a Reply

